Friday, 16 December 2011

THE SLEEPING ARMY


THE SLEEPING ARMY
By Francesca Simon
256 pages. Profile Books Ltd. £9.99. (Ages 8 and up).

ISBN
9781846682780

Rating: 5 Stars

      This book is about a girl named Freya who when she blows a horn at the British Museum is taken to Asgard, the realm of the gods.
      This book is about a young girl called Freya who blows a Viking horn and wakes up four chess pieces Rovska, Alfi, Sleipner and Snot. All five of them are then summoned to Asgard and told to get Iddun the goddess who used to guard there apples that made them stay young and that if they didn't they would turn to stone and wait for the next hero to blow the horn. Freya is just terrified and wants to go home, Alfi is cheerful and happy and helpful, and Snot and Rovska just want to get it done with. What happens when Loki steals the apples back from them when they find them? Will they get them back in time or will they all turn into stone?
      My favourite character is Freya because she is very smart. My favourite part is when she goes into the underworld.  I was amazed when I read this book because Horid Henry is not very attractive to me but this book was brilliant.  I think ages eight through fourteen should read this brilliant book. I think this book definitely deserves five out of five stars.

A MONSTER CALLS



A MONSTER CALLS
By Patrick Ness. Illustrated by Jim Kay.
216 pages. Walker. £12.99. (Ages 12 and up).

ISBN
9781406311525

Rating: 5 Stars

      This book tells you about a young boy who is visited by a monster.
      It is about a twelve year old boy called Conor who one night sees instead of a yew tree through his window a monster. Another time the monster grabs him, takes him out, and tells him that he shall tell him three stories then he shall then tell the truth and afterwards when he had left and Conor woke up he found poisonous red yew tree berries scattered across the floor. What happens when it finally comes to telling the truth? Will Conor tell it and be rid of the nightmare or shall he live inside the nightmare forever?
      My favourite character is Conor because he is fearless. My favourite part is the scariest part, when Conor is inside the nightmare. Although my parents think the monster is just adrenalin I know that it is real because of the baby yew tree growing in his room. I think ages eight through fifteen should read this brilliant book. I think this book definitely deserves five out of five stars.

Wednesday, 14 December 2011

THE BIG SNUGGLE-UP



THE BIG SNUGGLE-UP
By Brian Patten
Illustrated by Nicola Bayley
32 pages. Andersen Press Ltd. £10.99 (Ages 0+)

ISBN
9781849392082

Rating: 4 Stars


This book tells you about an old scarecrow and lots of animals in a house. It is about a scarecrow and nine animals going together in a house. First an old scarecrow and a mouse go in the house. Then a robin and a butterfly go into the house. After that a squirrel and a rabbit come into the house. Next a cat and a dog come into the house. Then a fawn, a lamb, and a donkey came into the house. Lastly a heron, a fox, and an owl came into the house. My favourite character is the dog. My favourite part is when the donkey comes in. I think the pictures are amazingly real. I think ages four and five should read this book. I think this book deserves four out of five stars.
also on Guardian Children's Books Site

(communicated by Agustinia ligabuei; written by Bellusaurus sui)

EARWIG AND THE WITCH



EARWIG AND THE WITCH
By Diana Wynne Jones
144 pages. HarperCollinsChildren’sBooks. £6.99. (Ages 8 and up).

ISBN
9780007416851

Rating: 4.5 Stars

      This book tells you about an orphan girl who is taken home by a witch.

      It is about a young orphan girl named Earwig who one day is actually chosen to be taken home by someone. Although that someone is a witch plus a tall, skinny, fiery young man. The minute Earwig walks into the witch's home her whole life changes going from getting whatever she wanted to to being a slave for an ugly old witch. What happens when Earwig starts to take her revenge? Will she finally be rid of this witch and win or shall she be defeated by the witch and live the rest of her life as a slave?

      My favourite character is Earwig because she is quite brave. My favourite part is the funniest part, when two hands grow on the witch one on the face and one on the bum. I think this book is exactly as good as the other Diana Wynne Jones books I have read. I think ages eight through twelve should read this wonderful book. I think this book deserves four and a half out of five stars.
also on Guardian Children's Books Site

Tuesday, 29 November 2011

THE INVENTION OF HUGO CABRET



THE INVENTION OF HUGO CABRET
A Novel in Words and Pictures.
By Brian Selznick.
Illustrated. 533 pages. Scholastic Press. £12.99. (Ages 9 and up).

ISBN
9781407103488

Rating: 5 Stars


      This book tells you of the adventures Hugo Cabret had while trying to fix the automaton without being caught.
      It is about a 12 year old boy called Hugo Cabret whose father died in a fire in the museum where he had worked and had found an automaton. After the fire went out, Hugo lived with his uncle in a train station where he was trying to live by stealing food. His uncle went missing, but he continued to work on his uncle's clocks so no one would know. Meanwhile, he was fixing the automaton which he recovered from the wreckage of the museum fire. Hugo only has one problem, the train station toy shop owner has stolen his notebook. What happens when the toy shop owner says that his notebook is burned? Should Hugo believe the toy shop owner and give up or should he keep on trying to find the notebook and maybe end up fixing the automaton?
      My favourite character is Isabelle because she is quite adventurous. My favourite part is when Isabelle and Hugo watch the automaton write and draw. I think this book was written a bit like a flip book because you feel a bit like you are watching a movie when you turn over all of the lovely pictures. It's not just an ordinary flip book because it has zoom and movement, not just movement. I think it will make a really good 3D movie and I hope I will get a chance to see it. I think people aged eight through forty should read this brilliant book. I think this book deserves five out of five stars.
also on Guardian Children's Books Site



Hurricane. Film inspired by The Invention of Hugo Cabret. Constructed from one scanned pencil sketch on paper and sound effects recorded from violin and background noise using iMovie software. Original design by Bellusaurus sui.

Saturday, 26 November 2011

MY STORY 4 book comparison



MY STORY: VIKING BLOOD
By Andrew Donkin
176 pages. Scholastic. £6.99. (Ages 8 and up).

ISBN
9781407104812

Rating: 4.5 Stars



MY STORY: ROMAN INVASION
By Jim Eldridge
144 pages. Scholastic. £6.99. (Ages 8 and up).

ISBN
9781407107370

Rating: 4.5 Stars



MY ROYAL STORY: ANASTASIA
By Carolyn Meyer
224 pages. Scholastic. £6.99. (Ages 8 and up).

ISBN
9781407116198

Rating: 4.5 Stars



MY ROYAL STORY: ANNE BOLEYN AND ME
By Alison Prince
224 pages. Scholastic. £6.99. (Ages 9 and up).

ISBN
9781407114774

Rating: 4.5 Stars


      This report is about four books, one's called "Viking Blood", another's called "Roman Invasion", another's called "Anastasia" and the last is called "Anne Boleyn and Me". The similarity between these four novels is that they are all historical.
      First I will tell you about the book called "Anne Boleyn and Me". It is about a Tudor girl named Elinor who is one of the ladies in waiting for Queen Catherine of Aragon. Anne Boleyn was as well until she caught the eye of King Henry. Since then the people of the town hated her for they wanted to stay true to their first queen, Catherine of Aragon. King Henry tried really hard (too hard) for Anne Boleyn just to divorce Catherine and marry her instead. King Henry marries her but he regrets it after about two years, a bit silly in my mind. What happens when Anne Boleyn is suspected of witchery? Shall she be condemned to death or not?
      Secondly I shall tell you about the book called "Anastasia". It is about a Russian Grand Duchess called Anastasia who is the youngest daughter of the tsar. Things go well for her family with lovely Easter feasts and sledging in the winter until the first World War and the Bolshevik Revolution comes along. Anastasia and her family are now captured and sent far away to Siberia. The life that Anastasia now knows is far from the same as her old life, she goes from eating fancy roast meals and fancy cakes off of silver tables to eating cheese and bread off of the floor.
      Thirdly I shall tell you about the book called "Roman Invasion". It is about a British warrior prince of the Carvetii tribe called Bran who is captured by the Romans to be held as a hostage. The Roman soldiers are building a road for protection and are using him to make sure no British soldiers attack in the middle for they shall kill Bran if anyone does attack. On the way Bran makes friends with two Greek men who had the choice to die or to work for the Roman soldiers and chose to work for them. One day when a British tribe did try to kill the Roman soldiers the two men pretended it was a completely different tribe and said they knew by their tattoos. What happens when Bran kills one of the soldiers from his very own tribe to save one of the two men? Shall the gods kill him for killing someone in his own tribe or shall they spare his life for saving a man?
      Lastly I shall tell you about the book called "Viking Blood". It is about a boy called Tor Scaldbane (Tor for short) who is going on the next raiding party. Tor and his half brother Ragner train with Tyral and their father to get ready for raiding. When they actually start raiding they find that they won't just be raiding but that they shall have war on the battlefield. Tor and Ragner imagined themselves fighting without the slightest fear and winning for everyone but when the time actually came they just stood there for a couple of minutes before actually starting to fight. Although they weren't the best fighters they still ended up killing one man each. What happens when Tor's hand is cut off and a great fever comes upon him? Shall the gods be kind and let him live through it or shall they make him be gone forever and ever.
      My favourite book would probably be "Anne Boleyn and Me" because her head gets chopped off, then "Viking Blood", then "Anastasia", and finally "Roman Invasion". My favourite character from all the books is Anne Boleyn because she is very brave, turns into queen, and tried to let normal people read. I think people aged eight through forty should read these books. I would rate all of these books four and a half out of five stars.

Saturday, 19 November 2011

MY ROYAL STORY: MARIE ANTOINETTE



MY ROYAL STORY: MARIE ANTOINETTE
By Kathryn Lasky
224 pages. Scholastic. £6.99. (Ages 8 and up).

ISBN
9781407116181

Rating: 5 Stars

      This book tells you of the adventures Marie Antoinette had on her way to becoming a French queen. It is about a young princess called Marie Antoinette who is learning how to be a French queen. Although she hates being away from her family she knows it can't be to bad. On her way to becoming Queen many sad and funny things happen. It is sad when her dance teacher dies, however it is funny when she has to run naked in front of five thousand people! Marie Antoinette is not very happy when she meets her husband because she finds he has pimples, is really fat, and droops a lot. Later on she finds she might be able to make a friend of him. Marie Antoinette hates her main lady in waiting who wears thick red lip gloss, likes to be very proper, and makes the king do what ever she wants him to. However when Queen Marie Antoinette finds that she cannot take a bath, go to the toilet or eat privately she is very surprised and angry for she learned how to go to the toilet and take a bath herself when she was six. When Marie Antoinette shows her husband how to simply make a snowball he starts singing a rhyme about his wonderful wife and how lucky he is to have her. What happens when Marie Antoinette's main lady in waiting expels Marie Antoinette's favourite lady in waiting? Will Marie Antoinette ever get her back?
      This book is set in 1769 AD. This book is set in the palace, in the village, in the garden and in the hospitals.
      My favourite part is the funniest part, when Marie Antoinette has to run naked in front of 5000 people! My favourite character is Marie Antoinette because she turns into a queen. I think people aged eight through forty should read this book. I think this book deserves five out of five stars.

Monday, 7 November 2011

BEDEVILED: DADDY'S LITTLE ANGEL



BEDEVILED: DADDY'S LITTLE ANGEL
Bedeviled Series: Book 1
By Shani Petroff. Illustrated by J. David McKenney.
240 pages. Penguin Group. $6.99. (Ages 8 and up).

ISBN
9780448451114

Rating: 3 Stars


It is about a devil.The devil is Angel's dad. Angel's dad gave Angel power.but Angel does not know how to use her power. When she used her power she made a mistake. She put her friends in the zoo, in cages.

she's sad because she does not have friends now. Sunday Angel goes to Gabi's house and says sorry for yesterday so on Monday she,ll have friends.

On Monday Cole came to school and said to Angel "Friday can we go on a date",I like the book because I love the part when Cole kissed Angel it was so funny.I was sad because Angel did not have friend.

Monday, 31 October 2011

MY ROYAL STORY: CLEOPATRA



MY ROYAL STORY: CLEOPATRA
By Kristiana Gregory
192 pages. Scholastic. £6.99. (Ages 8 and up).

ISBN
9781407116174

Rating: 5 Stars

This book tells you of the intelligent princess Cleopatra.

It is about a young princess called Cleopatra. Cleopatra hates her eldest sister who is called Tryphaena and wants to be queen. When a chest arrives with a pearl necklace that Cleopatra puts on Tryphaena nearly kills her with a dagger. Cleopatra is also worried about her father who is in hiding for people are trying to kill him, and he is waiting for a chance to ask the Romans for help to fight them off. Cleopatra soon finds that her life is endangered to for she is her fathers favourite daughter and when she is swimming she finds a fake of her very own skull from Tryphaena and people being paid to kill her and her father. She then decides to go to Rome with her father but is not impressed at all at there lazy way of eating by feeding each other grapes while lying down on sofas. Cleopatra also hates the way they talk about her father but they stop when they find she understands them and will say whatever she wants to about them.

This book is set in 57 BC. This book is set in Alexandria and Rome.

My favourite part is the funniest part, where it is raining when suddenly Mark Antony picks up Cleopatra drops her in a bakery then cuts of his cloths with his own sword so that he is naked and Cleopatra picks up his sword and keeps it. My favourite character is Cleopatra because she is intelligent, and it looks like it would be most fun to be her since she has a pet cheetah. I think ages eight and up to forty should read this wonderful book. I think that this brilliant book deserves five out of five stars.

MY ROYAL STORY: EGYPTIAN PRINCESS



MY ROYAL STORY: EGYPTIAN PRINCESS
By Vince Cross
160 pages. Scholastic. £6.99. (Ages 8 and up).

ISBN
9781407116846

Rating: 4.5 Stars

This is an interesting book about what it was like to be an Egyptian princess.

It is about a young Egyptian princess called Hatshepsut. The Nile has not flooded for three years. When the people ask Amun what they have to do to make the Nile flood again, he answers, "Find a running girl who will prove better than all the men in each kingdom and worship her." Every one stared at Hatshepsut because she was the only girl who ran in Egypt. A few days later when she was chasing her dog she saw her vizier Shushu and another man plotting to steal into her grandfather's tomb. While running away from them, because they want to catch and kill her, she makes a new friend called Rami. What happens when she receives the throne? Can she take this challenge? Can she defeat Shushu and what happens if not?

This book is set in 1490 BC. This book is set in Valley of the Kings, princess Hatshepsut's palace and in the city.

My favourite part is the scariest part where she finds Shushu and another man plotting to steal into her grandfathers tomb and when they find her they pin her up to the wall. My favourite character is princess Hatshepsut because she does the most action. I think ages eight and up to forty should read this book. I think this book deserves four and a half stars.

MY STORY: POMPEII



MY STORY: POMPEII
by Sue Reid
176 pages. Scholastic. £6.99. (Ages 8 and up).

ISBN
9781407103082

Rating: 5 Stars


This book is about when Vesuvius, the great volcano, exploded.

It is about a young girl called Claudia who lives in Pompeii. When she starts to feel the ground shaking she thinks that Vesuvius is going to erupt again but is told not to worry. When visiting her old best friend Aemillia she befriends a British slave called Aengus. When Aemillia's cousin Calpurnia comes over Claudia thinks she might make a good friend and forgets all about Aengus. A few days later she finds that Aengus has been sold to a gladiator and might fight from the chariot. Later she finds this is not true. What happens when the volcano erupts? Will she live through it?

This book is set in 78 AD. This book is set in Claudia's house, her best friend's house and the city of Pompeii.

My favourite part is the scariest part, when the volcano erupts. My favourite character is Calpurnia because she is a tomboy like me and likes Cleopatra. I think people aged eight through forty should read this book. I think this book deserves four and a half out of five stars.

Sunday, 30 October 2011

JOHNNY ENGLISH REBORN



JOHNNY ENGLISH REBORN
Directed by Oliver Parker.
101 minutes. Universal Pictures. (PG)

See at IMDB

Rating: 5 Stars

WARNING: this will spoil the movie

Johnny English Reborn is a sequal from Johnny English. It is about a secret agent (Johnny English) who is a really bad agent and always has a good sidekick. His sidekick is Tucker. Johnny always wants to be the more important one, so he is always is insulting his sidekick and never admits his mistakes. There are three members of Vortex in the film. there is one from C.I.A (American), one from K.G.B (Russian) and one from M.I.7 (British), who Johnny English works for. The members of Vortex get payed to kill people. The first member of Vortex, from C.I.A, is Fisher. There is a Chinese evil lady that is with them. She kills people that try to tell other people about Vortex. Fisher was telling English about Vortex so the evil lady killed him. then another bad guy comes to take the piece of the Vortex key off of Fisher's neclace so that Johnny English won't get it. Later on in the film, Johnny and Tucker find the second member of vortex from K.G.B (Pudolfkin). He tries to tell them about Vortex aswell, but the evil woman kills him first. English and Tucker try to get him to a hospital in a herlicopter. he dies on the way, but just before he dies, he tells them that one of the members of vortex is from C.I.A, one from K.G.B and one from M.I.7 but he died before he could say that the member of vortex from M.I.7 was SIMON AMBROSE. Eventually they find out that he is the third member of vortex and Johnny English ends up killing him.

I liked the film. It was one of my favourites. My favourite characters were Johnny English and Tucker. My favourite part was when at the end when the queen was coming to say thankyou to Johnny English but then the evil lady is pretending to be the queen and she starts fighting him and then runs away and he looks from behind the queen and thinks that she is the evil chinese woman and sprints up to her and jumps and rugby tackles her to the floor and then gets her in a headlock and starts banging her head on the table until he sees two guards with the real bad lady and notices he has been beating up the real Queen and then you don't know what happens next because it is the end of the film.

MARK OUT OF TEN:

9.9/10.

Friday, 14 October 2011

MY STORY: PYRAMID OF SECRETS



MY STORY: PYRAMID OF SECRETS
by Jim Eldridge
160 pages. Scholastic. £6.99. (Ages 8 and up).

ISBN
9781407116563

Rating: 4 Stars

This book is about what it was like to build the pyramids.

It is about a twelve year old boy called Nebka who's father sadly died building the pyramids. Nebka now lives with his uncle and is sent to go with him and work on the pyramids because the river Nile has flooded. It is back breaking work to build the pyramids but Nebka doesn't feel it as much when he makes a new friend called Isesi. Sadly, when Isesi's father is drunk Isesi is trying to save him from the giant limestone and then he ends up getting squashed by one himself. Meanwhile Nebka is getting fooled by one of the prisoners who claims that the Egyptian thrown is his. What happens when Nebka agrees to help the prisoners escape?

This book is set in 2517 BC. This book is set in Nebka's uncle's house and in the pyramids.

My favourite part is the most adventurous part, when they are fighting the criminals, one of whom claims to be the rightful king, and the others claim to be his palace guards. My favourite character is Nebka's uncle because he is one of the more special sphinx workers and because he is the one who fights off the criminals in the end. I think ages eight, nine, ten, eleven, twelve, thirteen, fourteen, fifteen, sixteen, seventeen, eighteen, nineteen, twenty and up to forty should read this brilliant book. I think this book deserves four out of five stars.

Tuesday, 11 October 2011

ROSE AND THE LOST PRINCESS



ROSE AND THE LOST PRINCESS
by Holly Webb
272 pages. Orchard. £5.99. (Ages 7 and up).

ISBN
9781408304488

Rating: 5 Stars

This book is better than the first book in the series.

It is about a young girl called Rose who goes from (in the first book) being a poor orphan to being a maid for the king's magician, Mr Fountain, and is now even Mr Fountain's apprentice. Later on the princess is found in the garden hidden behind a bush. However, the king knows that someone's evil magic must have gone wrong. Rose is now set a dangerous task: to guard the princess from whoever was trying to take her. What happens when Rose fails? Will the princess ever be found again?

This book is set in the village, on the frozen lake, in Mr Fountain's house and of course in the palace.

My favourite part is the scariest part, which is when evil Victor Hugo gives Rose a present that only by chance doesn't kill her. My favourite character is Rose because she can perform magic. I think ages seven, eight, nine, ten and eleven should read this book. I definitely give this book five out of five.

Monday, 10 October 2011

I AM BATMAN


I AM BATMAN
By Catherine Hapka.
Illustrated by Adrian Barrios and Kanila Tripp. 30 pp. HarperCollins Children's Books. £2.99. (Ages 5 and up).

ISBN
9780007865109

Rating: 5 Stars
[INTERVIEW-STYLE REVIEW]
What is this book called? I am Batman.
What is this book about? Batman.
Who is in the book? Batman and the Joker, other people too.
What happens in the story? Batman have a car and he has a really big thing that goes really fast and he lives in a building and he have a Batman costume. And there's lots of nice people and there's the Joker. When the Joker comes someone thinks he's a clown and then kills everybody before all his smoke and makes them die. And the baddy have lots of money and the baddy took a big money bus and he hit a money bus guy and he throwing him on the road. He got a favourite piece of paper and a painting. And some person helps him.
What is the best thing about the book? The good people and the Batman. And the Batman took money the Joker put. And the baddies put something on him so he stay in jail forever. And Batman was flying.
Did you like the story? Yes.
Was it a scary book? Yes.
Was it a funny book? Yes.
What children should read this book? The kind of children want to read it.

(communicated by Agustinia ligabuei; written by a parent)

Sunday, 2 October 2011

ROSE



ROSE
By Holly Webb
272 pages. Orchard. £5.99. (Ages 7 and up).

ISBN
9781408304471

Rating: 5 Stars

This one of my favourite books.

It is about a young girl called Rose who lives in an orphanage. Then she is suddenly taken into the work of Mr Fountain (the king's magician). She soon finds that she just might be a little bit magical herself. Meanwhile she has already saved Freddie (the magician's apprentice) from a giant smoke monster. What happens when her and Freddie's magic is put to the test? Where have all the children gone?

This book is set in an orphanage, a magician's house, the evil sparrow's house and sometimes in the town where rich people go in golden carriages, normal people walk and poor beggars lie on the floor.

My favourite character is Rose because she is a bit similar to me. My favourite part is when they get out of the cellar and are fighting the evil Miss Sparrow because I think that bit has the most action. I think ages seven and up should read this book. I definitely give this book five out of five stars.

Monday, 26 September 2011

MY ROYAL STORY: ELIZABETH



MY ROYAL STORY: ELIZABETH
By Kathryn Lasky.
240 pages. Scholastic. £6.99. (Ages 8 and up).

ISBN
9781407116211

Rating: 4 Stars


This is one of my favourite books.

It is about a Tudor princess named Elizabeth who is the daughter of Henry VIII, a king of England who had six wives. Elizabeth hates Mary Ward and does not want Prince Edward to die because when Henry VIII dies Edward would become king, and when Edward dies Mary Ward becomes queen and she does not want that to happen. She does many things in her busy years during which her favorite day is May Day. Sadly, Prince Edward once misses it but is cheered up when Elizabeth brings him back a kitten. Another time she has to watch the doctors ooze liquid out of her father's leg and later they end up bleeding her own foot and she thinks if she can watch them do that then she won't be afraid of anything. She also loves banquets but what she likes best is a wink or a pinch on the cheek from her father.

Elizabeth lived in England a very long time ago. The part of her life that takes place in this story when she is a teenager happened in the 1540's. Compare to most teenager's nowadays Elizabeth is quite unusual for she lives in many palaces for a month or two at a time. Elizabeth is a princess so she is also royalty.

My favorite character is Elizabeth.
My favorite part is when Elizabeth disguises herself as a normal girl because it is a bit funny. I definitely give this book four out of five stars. I think ages eight and up should read this book.

THE SPIDERWICK CHRONICLES



THE SPIDERWICK CHRONICLES
Directed by Mark Waters.
96 minutes. Paramount Pictures. (PG)

See at IMDB

Rating: 5 Stars

This is my favourite movie. It is about a boy called Jared, his sister Mallory and his twin brother Simon. When they move into a big old house they find Arthur Spiderwick's Field Guide. After that they are whirled into a magical adventure fighting invisible goblins, flying a griffin, nearly being killed by monsters and making a brownie friend. What happens when they are ransacked by goblins and Morgerath?

My favourite character is Jared's older sister Mallory because she is skilled at fencing. My favourite part is when they fight the goblins. Infact this my favourite movie because it surprises you in a scary way like when the goblins suddenly grab out at Jared's twin brother Simon.

I highly recommend this movie because it's suspenseful, because it has mystery, because children are the main characters and because of the adventure. I think this movie deserves five out of five. I think everyone over four should watch this movie. If you don't watch this movie then you are missing out on a lot of fun.

SPELLHORN



SPELLHORN
By Berlie Doherty
208 pages. Collins. £5.99. (Ages 9 and up).

ISBN
9780007331994

Rating: 5 Stars

I really like this book it's actually one of my favourites.
It's about a young blind girl named laura who when she climbs on to the unicorns back is hurled into a magicle world.
From the moment the moonbats to the unicorn hunters from the sea of snakes to bellyfill. But theres one person she can't trust flight.

My favourite part is when they go through the sea of snakes. I think ages 8, 9, 10 and 11 should read this book because I Just feel like those ages should. I really think this book deserves 5 out of 5.

Sunday, 25 September 2011

THE PRIME MINISTERS BRAIN



THE PRIME MINISTERS BRAIN
By Gillian Cross.
160 pages. Puffin Books. £6.99. (Ages 9 and up).

ISBN
9780140323122

Rating: 5 Stars

I really like this book its actually one of my favourites.
It's about a brand new computer game octopus Dare and it all starts when Dinah beats the octopus. Then she signs up to go to the other contest and has to buy the brand new computer which cost 2000 pounds but when Dinah gets there she wants the others to come with her but finds out they can't. She goes in herself but when she get's there she finds out that the computer director is actually the Demon headmaster. Meanwhile the others are trying to get to her from the garbage bin, The rest I think you should find out yourself.
My favourite part is when they all fight back. I think ages 8, 9, 10 and 11 should read this book because I Just feel like those ages should. I really think this book deserves 5 out of 5.

INKDEATH




INKDEATH
Inkheart Trilogy 3
By Cornelia Funke.
736 pages. Chicken House. £12.99. (Ages 12 and up)

ISBN
9781905294718

Rating: 5 Stars

This is one of the most brilliant books I have ever read. With Mo being haunted, the Adderhead immortal and Dustfinger dead the story has taken an unhappy turn. Finally Orpheus tries to swap Mo for Dustfinger and ends up giving in them both but Mo makes a dangerous deal with Death that if he gives him and Dustfinger back their lives that he will write those three words Heart, Spell and Death into the White book but if he doesn't before the end of spring him, Dustfinger and Meggie shall die.
My favourite part is when Mo is in the dungeon. My favourite character is Meggie. I think ages 8, 9, 10, 11 and 12 should read this book. I give this book five out of five.

THE PRINCESS AND THE GOBLIN



THE PRINCESS AND THE GOBLIN
By George MacDonald.
256 pages. Puffin Classics. £6.99. (Ages 8 and up).

ISBN
9780140367461

Rating: 5 Stars

This is one of my second favourite books.
It is about an 8 year old princess who once got lost in a hidden staircase and found her great great great great great great great great great great grandmother and found out that old people did not always have to be that ugly. Another time the goblins nearly get her and she makes friends with a miner boy called curdie. Then while curdie is spying on the goblins he gets caught and the princess with the help of her great great great great great great great great great great grandmother helps curdie escape. Lastly the princess ends up luckily escaping marrying a goblin king by being hidden by curdies mother while still sleeping before the goblins could get her.

My favourite part is when she gets lost on the staircase and finds her ten times great gradmothe I think ages 8, 9, 10, 11 and 12 should read this book. I give this book 5 out of 5.

THE PRIMATE PUZZLE: A TALE OF TWO FRIENDS AND THE MISSING LONG-NOSED MONKEYS



THE PRIMATE PUZZLE: A TALE OF TWO FRIENDS AND THE MISSING LONG-NOSED MONKEYS
By Oliver Nash.
268 pages. AuthorHouse. £13.95. (Ages 8 and up).

ISBN
9781449030995

Rating: 5 Stars

This is one of my favourite books. It is about a twelve year old girl named Amy Applegate and her best friend George who go on an adventure in Malaysian Borneo. In Malaysia borneo they see cockroach filled caves, Poisonous reptiles and two male boars at war. Later on they went to stay with an Orang Ulu tribe there; they eat crickets, water bugs, grasshoppers and cockroaches, learn how to fire darts and find out how to track animals. But where are the proboscis monkeys?

My favourite part is when they go in the cockroach filled caves. I think ages 8, 9, 10, 11 and twelve should read this book. I think this book definetly deserves 5 out of 5.

Tuesday, 6 September 2011

INKSPELL



INKSPELL
Inkheart Trilogy 2
By Cornelia Funke.
688 pages. Candlewick Press. £9.99. (Ages 12 and up)

ISBN
9781906427313

Rating: 5 Stars

This is one of the most brilliant books I have ever read. It is about a girl called Meggie, her parents Mo and Resa, Fenoglio, Farid, Dustfinger, Gwin and Aunt Elinor. Now that Resa got back Meggie wants to now all about Inkworld and finally reads herself and Farid into Inkworld without knowing how much trouble that was going to cause. From that day on things seemed wrong. Mo and Resa got read into Inkworld and Mo nearly died, Cosimo got read back to life but not really and Dustfinger gave his life away so that Farid could live.

My favourite part is Meggies first day in Inkworld. My favourite character is Meggie because she is simular to me. I think this book deserves 4.5 out of five. I think ages 8, 9, 10, 11 and twelve should read this book especially if they like reading because it is a fat book and because the main character likes reading.

Tuesday, 26 July 2011

INKHEART





INKHEART
Inkheart Trilogy 1
By Cornelia Funke.
544 pages. Chicken House. £9.99. (Ages 10 and up)

ISBN
9781906427290

Rating: 4 Stars


This is one of the most wonderful books I have ever read; it is actually one of my favourites.
It is about a girl called Meggie and her father named Mo. Both of them love books and Mo is a bookbinder. Ten years ago when Meggie was only two something
happened. Meggie was reading a picture book and Mo was reading inkheart to her mother Resa when suddenly they found three men in the living room Mo chased them out with a sword but when he came back Resa had disapeared. After that day Mo seemed to always be taking Meggie on trips and she didn't now what for because she didn't remember that day. One day when they were going on a trip to her aunt Elinor Mo got captured by an evil man named Capricorn. Meggie and aunt Elinor went after him and ended up caught in the same trap as him and Meggie without thinking twice gave Capricorn the book he wanted so much. Then after Mo had already read a boy out of the book and some gold their trater as if to say sorry helped them and the boy to escape.

I think people who really like to read like me should read this book because the main character loves to read and because it is 564 pages long. I think ages 8,9,10,11,12, and thirteen should read this book. My favourite part is when Meggie reads the shadow their and it kills everyone who once killed or burned someone else and then died himself. I am definately going to give this book four out of five.

JUDY MOODY AND THE NOT BUMMER SUMMER



JUDY MOODY AND THE NOT BUMMER SUMMER
By Megan McDonald.
128 pages. Candlewick Press. $5.99. (Ages 6 and up)

ISBN
9780763653514

Rating: 4 Stars

I like the book because the book have more people in the story. and they make more thing's happened like Zeke is his new friend and stink is judy's little brother is finding big foot and . Judy is all was in a mood like her friend Amy is her name friend and rocky is best friend for ever and they go to Borneo so it is her and frank and stink porr Judy no friend one part is so funny that stink say frank and Judy sitting in a tree k-i-s-s-i-n-g ...... and this wan to wen aunt Opal is Judy aunt wen she go to the cotes wen they want to go ate and Judy and stink sit on pop

Thursday, 30 June 2011

THIS ISN'T WHAT IT LOOKS LIKE



THIS ISN'T WHAT IT LOOKS LIKE
Secret Series: Book 4
By Pseudonymous Bosch.
448 pages. Usborne Publishing Ltd. £5.99. (Ages 10 and up)

ISBN
9781409525882

This is an amazing book actually one of my favourites.

It’s about a girl called Cass and a boy called Max Ernest. Now right after Cass had left she had gotten another of those chocolates that made her mind go back in time. Max Ernest had told her not to but she still had she ate the chocolate. The second she ate the chocolate she fell to the floor completely unconscious. When Cass arrived in the past of her great grandfather, she saw a little boy who was calling to his father to help him down the tree. She thought she would help him down the tree. Without thinking twice went over to help him down the tree when suddenly she could hear him saying “goat.” When she listened harder she realised that he was actually saying “ghost.” Then she went over to have a look at her reflection but she was invisible.

And that’s just the start of the book!

My favourite part is when lord Pharaoh comes in to our world. I think this story has to morals don’t trust someone whose friends with a bad guy and don’t eat chocolate that’s given to you by a bad guy. I think ages 8, 9, and ten should read this book. This book was so good that I could barely put it down. This is a brilliant book and you are missing out on a lot of fun if you are not going to read it.

Saturday, 11 June 2011

ICE PRINCESS



ICE PRINCESS
Skate School: Book 1
By Kay Woodward.
240 pages. Usbourne. £5.99. (Ages 9 and up)

ISBN
9780746099254

This is a really good book, actually one of my second favorites. Its about a young girl named Frankie who loves ice skating. And is once watched by a famous ice skater who thinks that she should try out for the Olympics. When Frankie reaches the place she's going to spend the next few months in she's amazed, and is even more amazed when she sees the beautiful ice rink.

Sunday, 15 May 2011

VIKINGS (BBC FACT FINDER)



VIKINGS (BBC FACT FINDER)
By Peter Chrisp.
48 pp. BBC Books. Out-of-print. (Ages 8 and up)

ISBN
9780563352600

Rating: 4 Stars

I read this book to learn about Vikings for school.
The Vikings came from Denmark, Norway and Sweden. We sometimes call the Vikings "sea raiders". There once was a King called Cnut, who had a long war with England, Then they decided they would have peace. After England's king died Cnut was made King of England. He was a lot like an English king because he was Catholic. I also happened to watch a BBC movie on Vikings. However the movie was wrong because it said the Vikings were the second Europeans to go to North America when they were the first.

Buy Vikings (BBC Fact Finder) at amazon.com
Buy The Vikings (Factfinders) at amazon.co.uk

Saturday, 14 May 2011

THE IMPROBABLE CAT



THE IMPROBABLE CAT
By Allan Ahlberg.
128 pp. Puffin. £5.99. (Ages 8 and up)

ISBN
9780141314907

Rating: 3.5 Stars


This is quite a good book, because it haunts you a bit.
      It's about a boy, who's family one day see a limping grey kitten on there doorstep so they took it in put it on the couch then started to stroke it like anyone would do to a kitten. However, the cat was hypnotizing them and in a week it was twice it's size.
      I think that if you really like cat's that you should not read this book because the cat is bad.
      I would only recommend it if you have another book with you or are only reading for a short time. If I put this book out of five I'd definitely say 3 1/2 .
















Monday, 9 May 2011

ISLAND OF THE BLUE DOLPHINS



ISLAND OF THE BLUE DOLPHINS
By Scott O'Dell.
192 pp. Houghton Mifflin. $6.99 (Ages 8 and up)

ISBN
9780547328614

Rating: 5 Stars

This book is about a girl named Karana. Karana lives on a small island, called Island of the Blue Dolphins, her Father is the Chief. The mane thing to know is that she gets left behind on the island.

I really liked this book because it is sad and because she has animal friends.
I like that she has animal friends because I wish I had animal friends.

This is one of my favorite books; actually it's very close to being my favorite. Even though this book looks thin when you are reading it it seems as though it is as fat as my table because so many unforgettable things happen. An interesting thing to know is that the Aleuts came to hunt sea otter. My favorite part is when Karana and her dog are in a cave and suddenly sea a giant devil fish outside on the sea, it is actually twice as big as there canoe. If I put this book out of five I would definitely say five out of five.


Old Mr. Sea Otter. Film inspired by The Island of the Blue Dolphins. Sea Otter puppet from paper bag and printed template from Monterey Bay Aquarium. Filmed and edited with iMovie software. Original design by Bellusaurus sui.

Saturday, 23 April 2011

THE MAGIC FINGER


THE MAGIC FINGER
By Roald Dahl. Illustrated by Quentin Blake.
80 pp. Puffin. £4.99 (Ages 7 and up)

ISBN
9780141322681

Rating: ? Stars

1 Book title : the magic finger. 2 what is the book about : it's about the girle have the magic finger. 3what did you like about the book: "I" like about the book they do not have guns 4 what didt you like:thay hunting
















Friday, 15 April 2011

THE THIRTEEN TREASURES



THE THIRTEEN TREASURES
By Michelle Harrison.
336 pp. Simon & Schuster UK. £6.99. (Ages 9 and up)

ISBN
9781847384492

Rating: 4 Stars

      While Tanya is visiting her grandmother, Tanya and Fabain find out that fifty years ago, a girl named Morwena Bloom went missing in Mr Hangmans Wood. Together they try to unravel this mystery, but Tanya has her own secret, the ability to see fairies. Will this help them on there journey or not? If so, how? When they do find her, she is nothing of what she used to be sweet, kind and shy, instead she is full of hatred, anger, jealousy and revenge. Tanya nearly gets pulled into the fairy realm, but her friend, Red, exchanges herself for Tanya.
      This was a really good book, actually one of my second favorites. If I put this book out of five, I would definitely say four out of five. My favorite part is, when Tanya nearly gets pulled into the fairy realm. The moral of this book is, if you feel left out on something, or that you aren't aloud in a secret it is for a good reason.

















Thursday, 31 March 2011

IF YOU'RE READING THIS, IT'S TOO LATE



IF YOU'RE READING THIS, IT'S TOO LATE
Secret Series: Book 2
By Pseudonymous Bosch.
416 pp. Usborne Publishing Ltd. £5.99. (Ages 10 and up)

ISBN
9780746097403

Rating: 5 Stars


      I liked this book so much I could barely put it down. This book is about a girl called Cass and a boy called Max-Ernest. Both are twelve and both are in the Terces Society, which is secret backwards.
      First they are fooled by Pietro's twin brother Doctor L. But while they are locked up they find something very mysterious, a sound prism. When they get back to the Terces Society they are given a job to do it is to find the homunculus.
      But Cass is grounded so she has to be clever. That night Max-Ernest gets some mail from the Terces Society. He runs to get Cass the minute he sees it. Together they read it. This is one of the stories they read.
      There once was a doctor who was very nice and taught children. But, when he found the philosophers stone, he grew envious and locked himself in his laboratory. One day he found out how to make a man in a bottle. He called this man the homunculus but treated him horribly. So the homunculus runs away altogether.
      The next day Cass , Max-Ernest and Yo-yoji go camping with Cass's uncles. Cass and Max-Ernest do not want to let Yo-yoji into the Terces Society so they go off by themselves but Yo-yoji finds out. When he comes up to them they tell him that they are trying to get the homunculus by the sound prism's music, magic music. The next morning they find the homunculus and take him back. What happens when they find he is not there anymore?
      I really liked this book. This is one of the best books I have ever read. I could barely put this wonderful book down. My favourite part is when Cass gets caught and while they are tied up the good people and the bad people have war. If you are not reading this book then you are missing out on a lot of fun. I think nine, ten, eleven, twelve and thirteen year olds should read this book because I just think those ages should. The moral of this story is evil people never win. If I put this story out of five I would definitely say five out of five.



Homunculus Army on Brain. Artwork inspired by If You're Reading This, It's Too Late. Constructed from one digital photograph and an automatically parcellated cortical surface reconstructed from MRI images using FreeSurfer software (http://surfer.nmr.mgh.harvard.edu/). Original design by Bellusaurus sui.
















TWO BAD MICE


TWO BAD MICE
By Beatrix Potter.
18 pp. Publications International. Out-of-print (Ages 4 and up)

ISBN
9780785300052

Rating: 4 Stars

This book is actually all abOut two bad mice.The characters in this book are Lucinda, Jane, Tom Thumb and Hunca Munca. Lucinda is a doll and Jane is a doll too. Tom thumb was one of the mice
and the other was Hunca munca.Tom thumb was married to Hunca Munca. Lucinda and Jane live in a doll's house. When they went out for a walk two bad mice came in. They saw the table with food on it. Tom Thumb cut the ham but the knife bended, so Hunca Munca tried to cut it but of course it was just plastic. Hunca Munca tried to give Tom Thumb some fish but the fish was stuc on the plastic plat so tom thumb smasht it in to pisis with a shuful. Hunca Munca took Lucinda's pilo too the hole in the haus. when Lucinda and Jane came home they saw all the mes that they made. they were shoct. Hunca Munca had babies. She kept the cradle and chair but she gave back the pillow. My favourite part is when Hunca Munca puts the babies in the cradle. I would give this book four stars.

(communicated by Maiasaura peeblesorum; written by Maiasaura peeblesorum and a parent)

Buy Two bad mice at amazon.com
Buy Two bad mice at amazon.co.uk

Monday, 28 March 2011

CHARMED LIFE



CHARMED LIFE
The Worlds Of Chrestomanci Book 1
By Diana Wynne Jones.
288 pp. HarperCollins. £5.99 (Ages 12 and up)

ISBN
9780007255290

Rating: 5 Stars


      I really liked this book because it can get a bit funny.

      This book is about a witch, named Gwendolen, and her little brother, named Cat Chant, whose parents have died when they went in a paddle steamer and it broke so they drowned. Cat Chant was holding on to Gwendolen (who is a witch, and witches don't drown) so he didn't drown.
      As Gwendolen stayed with Mrs Sharp longer, she started to turn into the best witch in town, and starts to want to live with Chrestomanci. When she gets there she wants to have more magic classes, but Chrestomanci doesn't let her, so she wants revenge. Gwendolen trys many things but never gets any reaction. Finally when she does her last thing, which was make bugs turn into giants, she gets a reaction, but it is not a good one.

      I really liked this book, because it gets a bit funny, when she tries to get revenge. My favourite part of this book is when Gwendolen takes small animals, such as spiders and frogs, and turn's them into giant animals. I think nine, ten, eleven, twelve, thirteen and fourteen year olds should read this book, because it just feels like that to me. If I put this book out of five, I'd definitely say, no matter what happens, this book would be five out of five. I liked this book so much that I could barely put it down, and it only took me three days to read it. The moral of this book is don't get revenge, because you are the loser and it won't lead to happiness.
















Sunday, 27 March 2011

LA CHINOISE


LA CHINOISE
Directed by Jean-Luc Godard.
393 minutes. KOCH Lorber Films. (15+)

See at IMDB

Rating: 5 Stars

I watched this film. It was funny. They people in it are crazy, they put crazy masks on and talk funny. Watching a version dubbed in Russian with English subtitles made it strange, because I can’t read. Ultimately, the characters are na├»ve in their belief that a true international revolution could come from the likes of a bunch of middle-class French quasi-intellectuals, but their devotion to the great chairman Mao makes you still want them to win (even if they really are still Capitalist Roaders). Mommy thought it was boring.

(communicated by Gigantosaurus megalonyx; written by a parent)

CHARLOTTE'S WEB: WILBUR FINDS A FRIEND (I CAN READ BOOK 2)


CHARLOTTE'S WEB: WILBUR FINDS A FRIEND (I CAN READ BOOK 2)
By Jennifer Frantz. Illustrated by Aleksey Ivanov and Olga Ivanov.
32 pp. Harper Collins. Out-of-print. (Ages 4 and up)

ISBN
9780060882815

Rating: ? Stars


It is abaut ; a sweet little pig in the barn
I like it because;because I like the little pig
Is it sad or funny or nice; it is sad because wilbur was lonely
Is he nice or bad; nice
















Monday, 21 March 2011

MINNIE 'N ME - WHERE'S FIFI?


MINNIE 'N ME - WHERE'S FIFI?
By Lyn Calder.
25 pp. Golden Books. Out-of-print. (Ages 1 and up)

ISBN
9780307301052

Rating: ? Stars

I like this book. My friend borrowed it. Fifi and Minnie are in this book. It's not scary in it. Fifi likes Minnie Mouse and Minnie Mouse likes Fifi her dog. The dog is going to catch a squirrel and Minnie doesn't let her. The dog ran away and Minnie runs after her. Minnie is crying because Fifi is lost. Minnie's friends Daisy and Penny love Fifi too. They write posters about Fifi. In the end they are happy. Fifi licks Minnie and she looks like she's falling over! Minnie is my favourite.

(communicated by Irritator challengeri; written by a parent)


Untitled. Artwork inspired by Minnie 'n Me - Where's Fifi?. Original design by Irritator challengeri created with help from a parent.

Buy Minnie 'n Me - Where's Fifi?at amazon.com
Buy Minnie 'n Me - Where's Fifi? Edition: Reprint at amazon.co.uk