Saturday, 31 October 2015


By Cornelia Funk
352 pp. Orion Books. £6.99. (Ages 8 and up)


Rating: 5 Stars

This story is about a boy called Jon who is 11 years old. When he goes to Salisbury’s boarding school, he finds out that the place is haunted with ghosts, so Jon gets a girl called Ella to find somebody to help. I like it because it has got ghosts and well illustrated pictures. It has got really good chapter names to hook the reader with action and magic. I think it could be more scary because the ghosts could be better. I think 6 to 12 year olds should read this book because 6 year olds like picture books and children over 12 might get bored of it. I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.

Friday, 30 October 2015


Directed by Ridley Scott.
142 minutes. 20th Century Fox. (PG-13)

See at IMDB

Rating: 4 Stars
    This movie might me the best scientific movie ever. It's a story of a man called Mark Watney was left behind because the crew thought he was already dead when the storm arrived at their post. Now he needs to survive at the post with a little bit of supply to wait for someone to save him. Do you think he will survive?
    I like the way mark lives in the post. A smart guy living in the middle of Mars? I don't think he will survive. But a Genius? yes.I like how he made the plants live. He is a botanist!
    I rate this Movie 4 stars because it is a great movie.

Monday, 26 October 2015


The Hunger Games Trilogy Book 1
by Suzanne Collins
464 pp. Scholastic. $7.99. (Ages 12 and up)


Rating: ? Stars

     I have read this book many times and I never got bored. The book is very exiting and has many types of characters. Every part of the book makes a story of how we really live. Capitol is the rich people around the world, and only the important people know what’s going on. All the other people in the capitol is just people who does not know what is going on in the world, they just think of them selves. On the other side, poor people struggle to give what they have to the capitol so they have money survive. Hunger games is mostly the same thing but it's just made to attract peoples attention and make them understand about capitalism that is happening on the world right now.
     Katniss evergreen is the main character in the book. I really like her. She was a ordinary girl in the district that could trick the capitol. She is very sweet for volunteering for her sister. But she is also not faking her love for Peetah, even though she does not know. I think she is very shocked how the people in the capitol lives. Very different than the districts. At the game, she made a friend. Katniss wants to help her but she didn’t make it through the game. That maybe the reason she started to be against the capitol.
     Katniss and Peetah are supposed to act like their in love in the game. If not, their lives are in great danger. There doing this so their family and friends are safe from the torture of the capitol. The capitol wants the best for their people so they use the districts to make capitol people happy and satisfied. If they find out the capitol is not satisfied, many people in the districts will die, maybe even the whole district. So they keep the people satisfied. Even if the capitol is very mean.
     Katniss everdeen is similar to another character. She is similar to Tally Youngblood. Tally Youngblood is a girl from a book called Pretties, Uglies, Specials. She goes with the usual cycle that on the background she does not know about. But after she knew the truth, She becomes something like a leader to people who also goes trough the truth about their lives. They both also have fears, that they can't control. One of the common thing is that they both have two boyfriends but they don’t know who to pick.
     I like the book because it's about the story of the present life. So similar. Another reason i like this book is because it is a great book for teens. It has a love story. That is the most important part in writing a book. Love stories can always grab other peoples attention.
     My favourite part of the book is when Katness makes the editor of the game choose Peetah and katness as the winner. It's very sweet because you might think they don’t love each other, but if you understand deeply, they love each other. Now, they have might made their selves in great danger. They will torture them.
     The Most worst part is when Katnesses closest friend saw her kissing with Peetah. They make Katniss do it to interest the Capitol. Maybe Gale, Satanist’s close friend, knows what is happening. But he might still be angry. It's a true love story. Teens would like it.
     If I can change a bit of the book, i would make the Districts more technological. Like they live in small apartments with cool futuristics things. But don't make them rich. It would ruin the whole story. And also make Peetah and Katniss more romantic.That would make Gale more angry.
     I think Teenagers would like this book. It has very interesting Story, Problem and etc. Also that Katniss is 16 so maybe more people of the same age would want to read it. I’m almost a teenager and I have read the book around 2 times. But my mom is the one who first introduced me to this book.
     i recommend you guys that are going to read this book to not see the movie first. It will ruin the vision of the book. Also don't search of the characters of the new movie that is going to come. It will also ruin you vision of the character. So don’t do it!

Friday, 23 October 2015


by Judy Blume
192 pp. Atheneum Books for Young Readers. $9.99. (Ages 12 and up)


Rating: 4 Stars

   Margaret is having a hard time after she moved to a new school. But now, she is settling in and meets new friends. She loves her friends but when they were having a great time one of her friends lied to her. She has also hurt someone just because of a gossip she heard. Will she ever make everything better?
   I love the part when a boy thew a party at his house. Not a crazy teenagers party though. Just a fun party. There were many fights but they all were very happy. Nobody ever had that kind of parties at my school. I wish I could have those kinds of party. They sound so fun.
   I hate the part when Margaret hurts a girls heart just because a little gossip. She didn't even know if the gossip was even true. May this be a lesson to everyone to not to ever listen to something even if you think its true.
   The sad part was when they wanted to go to different schools because they have finished elementary school. Its just like me leaving elementary school because I moved when I was 6th grade. Now i have lost many friends but also made many new friends.
   I recommend children who haven't gone through puberty to read this because it has a good vision of what might happen to you when you go through puberty. I hope tis book can be a good example to you who will have puberty soon.
   i rate this book 4 stars

Monday, 19 October 2015


Bedeviled Series: Book 3
by Shani Petroff
Illustrated by J. David McKenney
240 pp. Grosset & Dunlap. $6.99. (Ages 10 and up)


Rating: 5 Stars

   Angel try's to help a boy that she thinks needs help. but it ends up a disaster. Her friend now has her powers and she lost people she loves. She realizes that using her power isn't that easy. Even though her father already warned her. Now she has to deal with totally weird things and make them back to normal. Once again her father is correct, but he leaves her alone to make everything back to normal.
   Have you ever felt heart broken? This is how Angel felt when she heard that her boyfriend likes her best friend. Gaby wished for something that might ruin her relationship with her best friend. And even after that she still wishes for more things. How can she stop?
   I think the book has a connection with life. Like her friend Gaby breaking her best friends heart just because she wanted someone to like her. Gaby also isn't grateful of what she has, she just uses her wish power to wish for so many things she does not need. It's just so upsetting if a best friend wants something better than what her best friend needs. Let this be a lesson to all of you, always put family and friends before things that you want.
   I think this is a perfect book for Tweens. I think this book should be popular so much more people can know about this book.
   I give this book 5 stars.

Sunday, 18 October 2015


Divergent Trilogy Book 1
By Veronica Roth
496 pp. Katherine Tegen Books. $17.99. (Ages 13 and up)


Rating: 5 Stars

   This book is the best book I have ever read. It’s a teen novel about the future. It’s like all types of novels mixed together. It has love, adventure, friendship, science fiction and so much more. One of the other reasons I like this book is because it has so much information that you make an epic movie in your mind.
   I like romance, but not any kind of romance. I like teen romance or a story about crushes. I don't like when the romance is so simple, like the 70's romance. This book has a very advanced type of romance, it has sharing secrets, crushes, the type of ‘aww’ caring and more.
   Sacrifices are one of the worst parts of most books you may think, unless it has the enemy sacrifice themselves. Yes, I agree to. This book has too much sacrifice. Tris's mom, dad, and friends died in the book. It’s too much, hurts the reader’s heart. The deaths of Tris's friends and family is because of this erudite woman. Argh! The sacrifices are good because of the reasons they sacrificed themselves. I won’t say anything more to save the secrets.
   I love how the author made the fear simulation. It would not be the best book I have ever read. And also Four would not be there. Four is amazing, he has only four fears. My fears are uncountable. It’s also fasinating to imagine.
   I will rate this book all the stars in the word.

Friday, 5 June 2015


by Kate Shannon
Illustrated by Morgan Owens
Board book. Blue Dream Books. $7.99. (Ages 0 and up)


Rating: ? Stars

I have been reading ' Hey, Baby, Look! ' with my youngest child several times over the past couple of months. He is currently 15 months old. He seems to really enjoy the bright colours and the different images and enjoys trying to turn the pages to look at all of them. When I try to read the text on every page, however, he is often in a hurry to turn the page before I finish, and does not point to a particular image in response to the questions. I think this is just due to his stage of development, as although he understands some simple phrases and can say a few simple words he is not yet familiar with the questions in the book.

He was able to point to the apple though after I repeated the question a few times and pointed to the answer myself. I think he will be better at this as he gets a bit older and I think I will try asking him just one question from each page for now.

He enjoys quite a wide selection of board books, but the ones he chooses to pick up and handle and 'read' in his own little language tend to be very small light ones which are suited to his little hands, and those with images of faces, people or animals and which tell a story.

I think ' Hey, Baby, Look! ' is probably ideally suited to 2 to 3 year olds and I look forward to seeing how my son responds to it in the future and possibly reviewing it again in a few months. I am also interested to learn more about the research behind it, and why most pages have three similarly coloured images and one different. Thank you very much for the book and the opportunity to review it.

(read with Thecodontosaurus antiquus; written by a parent)

Saturday, 23 May 2015


by Terry Deary
Illustrated by Martin Brown
144 pp. Scholastic. £5.99. (Ages 8 and up)


Rating: 5 Stars

    I enjoyed reading this book because it had good illustrations and it was very funny also I learned a lot from reading it. The topic of this book is the Stone Age peoples! And it tells you about their way of life. I liked the illustrations because they look like comic books strips. Also the people in the illustrations act in funny ways.
    This book is written in a special way because most history books just give you the nice facts of history, but this book tells you all the horrible things in history. As a result, this book was scary and happy. So I guess that if you add up scary and happy at the same time that will make the book funny!
    The most interesting fact in the book is that hunters used to keep mammoth brains as souvenirs to show off with the other hunters. I was interested about the Stone Age because that was my topic at school. I want to learn more about this Stone Age topic because I know there are still more things to learn after reading this great book. I give the book 5 out of 5 stars.

Monday, 18 May 2015


by Will Mabbitt
Illustrated by Ross Collins
304 pp. Puffin. £6.99. (Ages 8 and up)


Rating: 5 Stars

    This book is about a girl called Mabel Jones and she gets kidnapped by pirates. Then she becomes a pirate too and Mabel Jones has to help the crew find all the X’s so they can get through the map to the treasure, but along the way there are many ways to die.
    My favorite character is Mabel Jones because she is a tomboy that is very clever and not scared of anything!
    I think this book is special because most pirate books do not have time machines in them but this book does have them.
    I like this book because of what happened when I started reading it. At the time I was reading a boring book and picked up this one instead to try it. This book was so good, it made me never want to stop reading it and I finished it in less than a day even though it is almost 300 pages long!
    I think you should be 6 to 12 years old to read this book. I will give this book 5 out of 5 stars. I hope this author writes more books with the same illustrator.

also on the Guardian Children's Books Site

Monday, 11 May 2015


Amy Wild: Book 1
By Helen Skelton.
304 pp. Corgi Childrens. £6.99. (Ages 9 and up)


Rating: 5 Stars

      This book starts off with the main character (Amy Wild) being invited to go on a trip to Peru with her Aunt Marg, to help her take photos of all the wildlife and city life. Her aunt is a photographer for magazines. When she arrives there she meets a man called Dudu and his son Juan who are also helping her aunt, and for a few days everything seems to be going well. Their good luck doesn’t last long, though, as after a few days Amy accidentally runs over her aunt with a truck. Terrified that Dudu will kill her, or she’ll be put in jail by the police, she runs away and hides in a boat she finds in the Amazon. The next morning she wakes to find herself deep in the Amazon with Juan purposely driving the boat. Not wanting to turn back, Juan decides to let Amy tag along with him. Sadly, he hasn’t taken her clumsiness into account, and their adventure starts to get crazier and crazier…
      My favourite character has to be Amy as I feel like I can connect with her in many ways. For example, in the book she seems to be a tomboy who would rather be having adventures or playing games and sports rather than just talking and gossiping with her friends. I have to say I agree with her as in school I’ll often get bored of just talking to my friends and go and play football instead. I also feel I can connect with her, as I have actually been to the jungle myself before, so I understand some of the dangers she faced, even though it was probably much safer for me when I went to the jungle.
      The scariest part of this book was probably when Juan’s boat breaks because he and Amy were fighting, and they are left in the middle of the Amazon with no way of transport except their own feet. I found this the scariest part of the book because before it was already scary and they were all alone in the jungle, but at least they had some shelter and some way of transport. When the boat breaks, suddenly everything seems more real and scary than before.
      I think that this book should be read by children eight to fourteen years old who like adventure books, as younger children won’t be able to read it, and older children may find it childish. The majority of this story takes place in the Amazon rainforest in Peru and is set in our time. As it is an exciting adventure story about the rainforest I think this book deserves five out of five stars.
An interview with the author on the Guardian Children's books site

Monday, 27 April 2015


by Vanessa Curtis
336 pp. THE EARTH IS SINGING by Vanessa Curtis336 @Usborne @UsborneDigital . £6.99. (Ages 14 and up)


Rating: 4 Stars

    I will admit that I was actually rather surprised I liked this book, as it wasn’t my normal choice. Normally I read fantasy or sci-fi, not historical fiction based on real lives. I may have to change my usual agenda, though, as this book was fascinating, and there have also been a few other historical fiction books and biographies which I have enjoyed. Throughout this whole book I really felt like I could connect with the main character, Hanna, There were a few times when my heart clenched in fear for her and I smiled when she was happy.
    This book is set in World War 2 in Germany, and is narrated by a 15-year-old Jewish Latvian called Hanna, whose father has been taken by the Russians. It starts off not too bad. Life is hard, but Hanna is still following her dream of becoming a dancer. Although many of her friends have deserted her because she’s Jewish, her best friend and boyfriend Uldis stands with her, so you think everything will be okay. Soon, however her world is turned upside down when the Nazis come and slowly take away everything she’s ever cared about. This book took me on a whirl of adventure as Hanna faced all types of danger, heart breaking sadness, betrayal and fear during a fight for her life. I would definitely give this book 4 out of 5 stars as it really explored the awful treatment Jews got during World War 2 and captured my interest from the start.
    My favorite character has to be Hanna as the writer does an amazing job of making you feel like she’s a real person telling you all of this and experiencing all of this. I can also really feel for her when she’s wishing she wasn’t different from everyone else, as my family has had trouble with living in England as we are American and Portuguese, although the problems this causes for us are nowhere near as large as the problems being a Jew causes for her.
    Most of this book is quite sad, but I would say two parts stand out in particular. First, Uldis betrays her leaving her heartbroken. Second, all the Jews, her mother included, are shot and thrown into a pit of dead bodies. This is especially sad because after her mother dies she is left with no one else in the world to care for her and love her.
    Although most of this book is sad there are a few parts where Hanna is happy. I would say the happiest parts of this book are when it’s the New Year and her uncle brings up a feast for them to share, and at the end of the book when Hanna escapes from the Nazis. I think this because in both these times Hanna feels free and safe from the Nazis and like everything might be all right again.

Tuesday, 21 April 2015


by Moon
Illustrated by Rosanna Tasker
48 pp. Moon. £7.00. (Ages 6 and up)

Rating: 5 Stars

    This book is about Archie and his mom .In the story Archie decided to design his own house.
    I like that in the book what’s funny is Archie used his mom’s M&S card to buy his items. Also I like the illustrations and how they are designed by the illustrator.
    I think this book is special because it tells you what an architect is and also it has a competition!.
    I like this book because it is very funny. I think the age you should be is 6-9 because it has hard words to understand. I will give this book 5 stars.

Monday, 20 April 2015


by Tanya Landman
368 pp. Walker. £7.99. (Ages 14 and up)


Rating: 4 Stars

    The book is about the times when American had slaves. The main characters are Charlotte and Abe (her horse), and the Indians they were fighting.
    My favourite part is when she joins the army. My favourite character is Abe because she is an animal. My least favourite parts are when she falls in love and when her horse died. My least favourite character is the boss of the army.
    I liked how there are not many books that show you how awful it is to be a slave. It is written so you know what her voice sounds like (her accent). That made it special.
    Did we like this book? Yes and no. It was too intense for a child to finish, and the parent reading had to not read everything because there were swear words and very violent parts that the child did not want to hear. However, for a teenager or an adult it is very well written, interesting, and informative, with four out of five stars.
    I think teenagers would like this book because it is sad and has romance.
also on the Guardian Children's Books Site


by Linda Chapman and Michelle Misra
Illustrated by Rob McPhillips
75 pp. Red Fox. £4.99. (Ages 5 and up)


Rating: 3 Stars

    This book is about Emily and Molly who are going to Borneo to see orangutans with Emily’s mom and dad, but there are some loggers that are destroying the rainforest.
    My least favourite part was the ending of the story because Emily did not stop the loggers! And then she even went back to look at more animals rather than trying to stop the loggers. I would try to sort out the problem if I was in her shoes.
    I like that in the book Emily and her friend and family explore the rainforest like what I did. But, we did different things like Emily cuddled orangutans, and I saw monkeys. I think the age for the book should be 5-8 because the book is not scary at all !!!. I will give this book 3 stars.

also on the Guardian Children's Books Site

Tuesday, 3 February 2015


by Gillian Cross
160 pp. OUP Oxford. £6.99. (Ages 9 and up)


Rating: 5 Stars

     The story is about a girl and 2 boys and a very mean headmaster. When you look in his eyes he says "You are so so tired" and then you fall asleep. Except for the Splat group…
     The most scary part was when the demon headmaster nearly killed Splat with learning children - but a noise interruption by Dinah stopped it. I like how there is always excitement in the chapters.
     I enjoyed this book and I will give this book 5 stars. I think 8 – 11 year olds will like this book because it is not that scary at all like it has a many bits of scariness.