Thursday, 31 March 2011

IF YOU'RE READING THIS, IT'S TOO LATE



IF YOU'RE READING THIS, IT'S TOO LATE
Secret Series: Book 2
By Pseudonymous Bosch.
416 pp. Usborne Publishing Ltd. £5.99. (Ages 10 and up)

ISBN
9780746097403

Rating: 5 Stars


      I liked this book so much I could barely put it down. This book is about a girl called Cass and a boy called Max-Ernest. Both are twelve and both are in the Terces Society, which is secret backwards.
      First they are fooled by Pietro's twin brother Doctor L. But while they are locked up they find something very mysterious, a sound prism. When they get back to the Terces Society they are given a job to do it is to find the homunculus.
      But Cass is grounded so she has to be clever. That night Max-Ernest gets some mail from the Terces Society. He runs to get Cass the minute he sees it. Together they read it. This is one of the stories they read.
      There once was a doctor who was very nice and taught children. But, when he found the philosophers stone, he grew envious and locked himself in his laboratory. One day he found out how to make a man in a bottle. He called this man the homunculus but treated him horribly. So the homunculus runs away altogether.
      The next day Cass , Max-Ernest and Yo-yoji go camping with Cass's uncles. Cass and Max-Ernest do not want to let Yo-yoji into the Terces Society so they go off by themselves but Yo-yoji finds out. When he comes up to them they tell him that they are trying to get the homunculus by the sound prism's music, magic music. The next morning they find the homunculus and take him back. What happens when they find he is not there anymore?
      I really liked this book. This is one of the best books I have ever read. I could barely put this wonderful book down. My favourite part is when Cass gets caught and while they are tied up the good people and the bad people have war. If you are not reading this book then you are missing out on a lot of fun. I think nine, ten, eleven, twelve and thirteen year olds should read this book because I just think those ages should. The moral of this story is evil people never win. If I put this story out of five I would definitely say five out of five.



Homunculus Army on Brain. Artwork inspired by If You're Reading This, It's Too Late. Constructed from one digital photograph and an automatically parcellated cortical surface reconstructed from MRI images using FreeSurfer software (http://surfer.nmr.mgh.harvard.edu/). Original design by Bellusaurus sui.
















TWO BAD MICE


TWO BAD MICE
By Beatrix Potter.
18 pp. Publications International. Out-of-print (Ages 4 and up)

ISBN
9780785300052

Rating: 4 Stars

This book is actually all abOut two bad mice.The characters in this book are Lucinda, Jane, Tom Thumb and Hunca Munca. Lucinda is a doll and Jane is a doll too. Tom thumb was one of the mice
and the other was Hunca munca.Tom thumb was married to Hunca Munca. Lucinda and Jane live in a doll's house. When they went out for a walk two bad mice came in. They saw the table with food on it. Tom Thumb cut the ham but the knife bended, so Hunca Munca tried to cut it but of course it was just plastic. Hunca Munca tried to give Tom Thumb some fish but the fish was stuc on the plastic plat so tom thumb smasht it in to pisis with a shuful. Hunca Munca took Lucinda's pilo too the hole in the haus. when Lucinda and Jane came home they saw all the mes that they made. they were shoct. Hunca Munca had babies. She kept the cradle and chair but she gave back the pillow. My favourite part is when Hunca Munca puts the babies in the cradle. I would give this book four stars.

(communicated by Maiasaura peeblesorum; written by Maiasaura peeblesorum and a parent)

Buy Two bad mice at amazon.com
Buy Two bad mice at amazon.co.uk

Monday, 28 March 2011

CHARMED LIFE



CHARMED LIFE
The Worlds Of Chrestomanci Book 1
By Diana Wynne Jones.
288 pp. HarperCollins. £5.99 (Ages 12 and up)

ISBN
9780007255290

Rating: 5 Stars


      I really liked this book because it can get a bit funny.

      This book is about a witch, named Gwendolen, and her little brother, named Cat Chant, whose parents have died when they went in a paddle steamer and it broke so they drowned. Cat Chant was holding on to Gwendolen (who is a witch, and witches don't drown) so he didn't drown.
      As Gwendolen stayed with Mrs Sharp longer, she started to turn into the best witch in town, and starts to want to live with Chrestomanci. When she gets there she wants to have more magic classes, but Chrestomanci doesn't let her, so she wants revenge. Gwendolen trys many things but never gets any reaction. Finally when she does her last thing, which was make bugs turn into giants, she gets a reaction, but it is not a good one.

      I really liked this book, because it gets a bit funny, when she tries to get revenge. My favourite part of this book is when Gwendolen takes small animals, such as spiders and frogs, and turn's them into giant animals. I think nine, ten, eleven, twelve, thirteen and fourteen year olds should read this book, because it just feels like that to me. If I put this book out of five, I'd definitely say, no matter what happens, this book would be five out of five. I liked this book so much that I could barely put it down, and it only took me three days to read it. The moral of this book is don't get revenge, because you are the loser and it won't lead to happiness.
















Sunday, 27 March 2011

LA CHINOISE


LA CHINOISE
Directed by Jean-Luc Godard.
393 minutes. KOCH Lorber Films. (15+)

See at IMDB

Rating: 5 Stars

I watched this film. It was funny. They people in it are crazy, they put crazy masks on and talk funny. Watching a version dubbed in Russian with English subtitles made it strange, because I can’t read. Ultimately, the characters are na├»ve in their belief that a true international revolution could come from the likes of a bunch of middle-class French quasi-intellectuals, but their devotion to the great chairman Mao makes you still want them to win (even if they really are still Capitalist Roaders). Mommy thought it was boring.

(communicated by Gigantosaurus megalonyx; written by a parent)

CHARLOTTE'S WEB: WILBUR FINDS A FRIEND (I CAN READ BOOK 2)


CHARLOTTE'S WEB: WILBUR FINDS A FRIEND (I CAN READ BOOK 2)
By Jennifer Frantz. Illustrated by Aleksey Ivanov and Olga Ivanov.
32 pp. Harper Collins. Out-of-print. (Ages 4 and up)

ISBN
9780060882815

Rating: ? Stars


It is abaut ; a sweet little pig in the barn
I like it because;because I like the little pig
Is it sad or funny or nice; it is sad because wilbur was lonely
Is he nice or bad; nice
















Monday, 21 March 2011

MINNIE 'N ME - WHERE'S FIFI?


MINNIE 'N ME - WHERE'S FIFI?
By Lyn Calder.
25 pp. Golden Books. Out-of-print. (Ages 1 and up)

ISBN
9780307301052

Rating: ? Stars

I like this book. My friend borrowed it. Fifi and Minnie are in this book. It's not scary in it. Fifi likes Minnie Mouse and Minnie Mouse likes Fifi her dog. The dog is going to catch a squirrel and Minnie doesn't let her. The dog ran away and Minnie runs after her. Minnie is crying because Fifi is lost. Minnie's friends Daisy and Penny love Fifi too. They write posters about Fifi. In the end they are happy. Fifi licks Minnie and she looks like she's falling over! Minnie is my favourite.

(communicated by Irritator challengeri; written by a parent)


Untitled. Artwork inspired by Minnie 'n Me - Where's Fifi?. Original design by Irritator challengeri created with help from a parent.

Buy Minnie 'n Me - Where's Fifi?at amazon.com
Buy Minnie 'n Me - Where's Fifi? Edition: Reprint at amazon.co.uk

THE OWL WHO WAS AFRAID OF THE DARK



THE OWL WHO WAS AFRAID OF THE DARK
By Jill Tomlinson. Illustrated by Paul Howard.
112 pp. Egmont Books Ltd. £3.99. (Ages 7 and up)

ISBN
9781405210935

Rating: ? Stars

The author of the book is Jill Tomlinson.
Jill Tomlinson never trained to be a writer. She wanted to be an opera singer, but when she got ill she had to stop. She decided to write books for children.
The bus that went to church was her first story. But it was turned down by 16 publishers before Being accepted as a picture book!
In the owl who was afraid of the dark, Plop is a baby owl perfect in every way - exept for one. Plop is Afraid of the dark!
The book costs £3.99. There is a cat, an otter, a penguin, a hen, an aardvark and a gorilla. Egmont is the company that published the book. You can find more information on internet. The ISBN number is 1-4052-1093-1. The picture tells you that there is a baby owl in the book.
In the lady's sketch book there is a Barn owl, hedgehog, bat and a badger.
One half of her book is for creatures that come out in the day, and the other half is for creatures that come out in the night.
















GEORGE'S MARVELLOUS MEDICINE



GEORGE'S MARVELLOUS MEDICINE
By Roald Dahl. Illustrated by Quentin Blake.
128 pp. Puffin. £5.99. (Ages 8 and up)

ISBN
9780141322735

Rating: ? Stars

George's grandmother has a small puckered up mouth like a dogs bottom. She has pale brown teth as if shes only been eating sugar all of her life and never brushes her teeth.
George's grandmother's not a very nice person. She always bosses George about making him do everything for her. George's grandmother loves to eat bugs. Her favourites are beetles. She says your lucky if you get one in a stick of celary.

ELEPHANT ADVENTURE



ELEPHANT ADVENTURE
By Willard Price.
208 pp. Random House Children's Books: Red Fox. £5.99. (Ages 9 and up)

ISBN
9780099183310

Rating: 5 Stars

Elephant Adventure is my favourite book I've ever read. It was one of my reading books in year 5. I found the book when I was looking in the English section and my teacher, Miss Llwyd, told me to hurry up because we needed to start the lesson. So, I just picked out any book and it turned out to be Elephant Adventure. At first, I thought it wouldn't be that good because of the title 'Elephant Adventure' and the picture on the front. But after all, you can't judge a book by it's cover. And when I started reading it, it turned out to be amazing. I'm not going to tell you the whole story just the beggining and end. The book is about two boys named Hal and Roger who work in a safari park. The story begins when Hal and Roger are adventuring in the Mountains of the Moon, and see a large, black elephant with red eyes towering above them. Then, they escape the black elephant and find a village where giant people (Watussi) mixed with tiny people (Pygmys) live. Roger makes friends with Bo, the chief' s son and finds a lost baby elephant, looks after it and names it Big Boy. Next, the Thunder man and his servants kidnap Bo. At the end of the story Hal and Roger capture a white elephant. My favourite part is when Hal is telling Roger the story of how elephants got their trunk, but you have to find out what it goes like yourself. My favourite character is Bo, because he is brave and takes risks. I recommend that you would read this book. If I were to give it a mark out of 10,it would be 10.

CHARLIE AND THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY



CHARLIE AND THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY
By Roald Dahl. Illustrated by Quentin Blake.
208 pp. Puffin. £6.99. (Ages 8 and up)

ISBN
9780141322711

Rating: ? Stars

Charlie Bucket lives in a small wooden house with Grandpa Jo, Grandma Josephene, Grandpa George and Grandma Georgena, Mr and Mrs Bucket. He is a young, kind little boy with yellow hair and blue eyes. He is 4 foot 10 inches and he is 6 stone. He passes the chocolate factory on the way to school. His hobbie is eating chocolate. He has butter and toast for breakfast, he has baked potatoes and cabbage for lunch and cabbage soup for supper. He only had a chocolate bar once a year, which was on his birthday. He always dreampt about going in the factory. once, on his birthday, he opened his wonka bar and found a golden ticket to the chocolate factory.

Saturday, 19 March 2011

SNUGGLE UP, LITTLE ONE: A TREASURY OF BEDTIME STORIES



SNUGGLE UP, LITTLE ONE: A TREASURY OF BEDTIME STORIES
By various authors.
176 pp. Little Tiger Press. Out-of-print (Ages 1 and up)

ISBN
9781845065850

Rating: ? Stars

An anthology of six complete picture books:
READY FOR BED!
I DON'T WANT TO GO BED!
WHAT ARE YOU DOING IN MY BED?
HUSHABYE LILY
GOODNIGHT, SLEEP TIGHT
THE VERY NOISY NIGHT


ready for bed 1 I like thais book because; because the bunny is nice Is it funny or sad;yas, it is funny book
















Friday, 18 March 2011

THE GRAVEYARD BOOK



THE GRAVEYARD BOOK
By Neil Gaiman.
304 pp. Bloomsbury. £6.99. (Ages 9 and up)

ISBN
9780747594802

Rating: 5 Stars

I really liked this book and it makes me remember The Jungle Book although it is a bit better.
This book is about a boy called Nobody who is raised by ghosts because an evil man Jack killed all of Nobody's family.
But Jack is still out there and still wants to kill Nobody.
My favourite part is when Nobody defeats Jack.



This is one of the best books I've read because it's really exiting and makes you want to know what is going to happen next.
I think the moral of the story is don't want power because it won't lead to good unless you want to lose of course.
If I had to put this book out of one hundred I'd say one hundred out of one hundred no matter what you said so I say you should definitely get this book and if you don't your missing out on a lot of fun and I do know this because I couldn't even put it down it was so good.
I think eight, nine, ten, eleven and twelve year olds should read this book because I think those ages would appreciate this book best and because little children might be a bit scared.




Three Ghosts in the Graveyard Puppet Theatre. Artwork inspired by The Graveyard Book. Constructed from cardboard milk box wrapper, construction paper, yarn, ribbon, feather, googly eyes, brass fasteners, and cardpaper. Skeleton template from Ben and Jerry's website http://www.benjerry.com/fun/halloween/assets/images/skeleton.gif. Original design by Bellusaurus sui.

Monday, 14 March 2011

SPACEBABY



SPACEBABY
By Henrietta Branford.
128 pp. Harper Collins Children's Books. Out-of-print. (Ages 9 and up)

ISBN
9780006751755

Rating: 5 Stars

      The characters so far are 3 of them, Tipperary, Hector and Spacebaby. Tipperary is a young woman that always cares about the baby and has big round eyes. She also has loads of colourful clothes. She tries to give the baby boiled egg but he didn't let her, but he likes milk. Hector is a dog. He has ginger eyebrows and the rest of him is brown. He is always jealous about things. Spacebaby is the one who is telling the story. He thinks that Hector is raining.
      The story takes place on planet earth where Tipperary and Hector are on Mount Wrath.
      Spacebaby is on planet earth telling the story where Tipperary and Hector are camping one night and a giant frisbee flys past them that took a baby to planet earth. He doesn't know how to talk in the planet earth. Tipperary and Hector find him Tipperary is looking after Spacebaby but Hector is jealous with Spacebaby.
      I think the story is very very funny because Spacebaby thought the dog, Hector was raining and Hector said that Spacebaby has a big head. I also think its interesting because they said there was a giant frisbee in the sky above.

FLOOD FIND


FLOOD FIND
By Jan Barrow. Illustrated by Robin Lawrie.
72 pp. Pont Books. £1.50. (Ages 10 and up)

ISBN
9781859023266

Rating: 3.5 Stars

I like this book a little bit because it is a little bit funny and a little bit interesting. It is the best archaeologist book I ever heard or read but at the start it was boring and it came better and better. From looking at the cover you only know one character which is one of the sheep but if you read the blurb you find out who the main character is which is Gareth which is the youngest person in his family and in the book he is about ten years old. Gareth has one brother who is called David and he is around fourteen or fifteen years old and Gareth has one sister who is about at least seventeen years old and she is called Bethan. Gareth lives on a farm with his dad, his mum, his big sister Bethan and his big brother David. David and Bethan don't like Gareth because he is the youngest in the family. David and Bethan always ignore Gareth when he's trying to say something or explain something. Gareth is the main character and he likes digging.

Characters:
Gareth
Gareth is the main character. He loves digging and finding tresure. Gareth is about ten years old and he is also the youngest in the family. He lives on the farm with his mam, dad, his big brother and his big sister, David and Bethan.

David
David is Gareth's big brother. He only can think about working and going on computers. He also wants to go to university when he's older. David is about 13, 14 or 12 years old. He doesn't like his little brother Gareth.

Bethan
Bethan is the oldest kid in the family. She's around 17 or 16 years old. She doesn't like Gareth either because he's the youngest. She's not in a very good mood all the time. She has brown curly hair.

Mam
Mam likes drinking lots of tea and coffe. She doesn't talk very much, expesially she doesn't talk very much to Gareth.
















Monday, 7 March 2011

CORALINE



CORALINE
By Neil Gaiman.
176 pp. Bloomsbury. £9.99 (Ages 9 and up)

ISBN
9780747558538

Rating: 5 Stars

This book is very scary but still one of my favorite books .
It is about a young girl named Coraline whose parents do nothing but type on the computer and tell her to leave them alone.
Soon Coraline finds a secret door which leads into a new world where people have buttons for eyes.
First Coraline thinks this world is a lot better. Then she finds out that the person who says that she is her other mother and seems to be so nice really wants to take her life away. She found this out from three ghost children whose soles have been taken away and hidden carefully.
I think the lessons in this book are for parents and children. The one for children is to be happy with the parents that you have and the one for parents is to be kind to your children because they might run away.

















Friday, 4 March 2011

THE ENORMOUS CROCODILE


THE ENORMOUS CROCODILE
By Roald Dahl. Illustrated by Quentin Blake.
64 pp. Puffin. £5.99 (Ages 5 and up)

ISBN
9780141323756

Rating: 5 Stars

I really liked this book it actually is my favourite book.
This book is about an enormous silly crocodile. Who wants to eat all the children
and does lots of tricks on them but all the animals tell the children to run away. But elephant swings the enormous crocodile round and then the crocodile flew to the sun and burns up like a sausage.
and my favourite part is when the crocodile tries to eat the children.
I think 3,4,5 and 6 year olds should read this wonderful book.

(communicated by Agustinia ligabuei; written by Bellusaurus sui)

Thursday, 3 March 2011

THE MOON'S REVENGE



THE MOON'S REVENGE
By Joan Aiken. Illustrated by Alan Lee.
32 pp. Red Fox. Out-of-print. (Ages 4 and up)

ISBN
9780099750109

Rating: ? Stars

Seppy is the seventh son of the seventh son. He's seven when the story starts. Seppy helps his father build carts and carriages for his work. He wants to play the fiddle and he wanted to be the best fiddler in the world. He has a sister called Octavia and six older brothers. He's only aloud to practise the fiddle on Sundays and holidays. He plays the fiddle to stop bad things happening. He had to go barefoot for seven years.

The second character I'm going to describe is the beast. The monster has seven feet. From far away it looks like a horned whale. The monster had two horns on its head. The monster was wearing seven shoes, which where Sep's shoes from when he was one to seven. It smelt damp, sickly rotting and weedy like flowers that had been in water for too long.The monster was very frightening.














THE IRON MAN



THE IRON MAN
By Ted Hughes.
80 pp. Faber Children's Books. £4.99. (Ages 9 and up)

ISBN
9780571226122

Rating: 5 Stars


Iron Man Book Review Letter

Dear Ankylosaurus,
I'm writing this letter to inform you of a book that I have recently read. It is called The Iron Man and it was written by ted hughes. I am writing to you about this book because it is one of my favourite books.

I really enjoyed reading this book. it's about an enormous metal man that appeared in a little village and ate all the machinery and fell in a big pit. I am not going to tell you the rest other-wise I'll spoil the story. My favourite part is when the Iron Man is fixing himself after he fell down a cliff.

If yo get the opportunity I recommend you read it. I would give it 10 out of 10. I hope yo get a chance to read this exciting book.

Yours sincerely,

Minmi.
















CHEAT!



CHEAT!
By Judy Waite.
64 pp. Heinemann. £5.65. (Ages 7 and up)

ISBN
9780435114855

Rating: 1/2 Star



Book report letter


Dear Ankylosaurus,
I am writing this letter to you to tell you about a book that I have recently read. It's called cheat, and it's written by Judy Waite. It's a book about a boy called Danny who cheats in an art competition.

The story begins when Danny woke up and found a letter for him saying that he won a competition. My favourite part is when Mr. King says to Danny that he is a vegetarian, and he just throws the meat pies in the bin after his gran's gone. It made me feel exciting.

I wouldn't recommend you read this book because it's boring, and it dosen't have a proper ending. If I were to give it a mark out of ten, I would give it one, because I like stories with proper endings.

Yours sincerely,

Minmi.















THE MOON'S REVENGE



THE MOON'S REVENGE
By Joan Aiken. Illustrated by Alan Lee.
32 pp. Red Fox. Out-of-print. (Ages 4 and up)

ISBN
9780099750109

Rating: ? Stars


Acrostic Poem about The Moon's Revenge

Massive monstrous moon was mad
On his face were seven marks
On the sea wall were seven odd shoes
Nobody knew that Sep was a great fiddler
Something odd was coming close

Rushing towards the harbour was a seven footed monster
Everyone was skared and petrified
Vicious monster
Everybody running away in fear
Never had Seppy fiddled to a monster
Giant monster was shrinking smaller then disappeared
Everybody dancing and cheering for Seppy



Poem inspired by The Moon's Revenge. Original poem by Iguanodon bernissartensis.